Ads

I pushed my shopping cart down the cereal aisle. The boxes’ huge font flashed, glittered, and sang at me. Some would hover for me and do tricks. Others would face towards me and project holographic images in front of me. That didn’t work too well, since holographs would tend to overlay with other cereal and interfere. The most annoying ones would follow me to the end of the aisle, all grabbing for my attention.

And none of them got it. Except for one box of cereal.

It had no fancy technologies to enhance its ad. Just simple text, saying “Simple Sereal.” Even the font was a basic Arial, reasonably large but not excessively so. The box reminded me of the old times, when ads were just basic words or posters. The box hung around in a corner, not like those suspicious kids in the back of the classroom that does drugs, not that kind of isolated, but fairly isolated from the rest of the cereal boxes screaming for my attention.

I grew so accustomed to ads, that all the flashy ads just flew past my eyes. I probably registered them subconsciously, but I saw the that simple box and it caught me. Its simplicity was probably its own way of advertising, by being so un-noticeable that it was noticeable. For an economy that relied so heavily on ads, it was a risky move.

I didn’t mind that it was a marketing trick. I liked the simplicity in today’s over-complicated world, and I bought it.

Bought is the wrong term though. I pocketed Simple Sereal for free since my Ad-Presence was strong enough. Every person, every group, and every company has an Ad-Presence. We can get things for free, at the expense of viewing ads from other products and displaying the product-you-bought on your own products. We buy ads with ads earned by ads.

I invented several products, and they sold well enough (or ad’d well enough) for ads I display to reach many people. So I can do most of my grocery shopping for free, though people will see what I buy through my own ads. That’s fine though. Some people buy my products using ads with their own ads.

When I arrived home, I teared through the cardboard box (wow, haven’t seen cardboard for a while) and poured the cereal into a China bowl. The cereal was monochromatic pale yellow, and clinked nicely into the bowl. I poured milk, which mooed whenever I opened it, into my cereal, and ate the cereal. I spooned a mouthful of the crunchy and brittle yellow bits into my mouth. I like the flavor, only slightly sweet but at the same time reminded of honey and lemons.

As I ate, I wondered what Simple Sereal’s advertising would be. For my products I mean. Since I payed through ads, Simple Sereal ads would display on my ad space. But seeing as Simple Sereal didn’t have many ads, I felt naturally curious.

When I finished the bowl, I suddenly felt un-curious.

I stood up. I was tired, but I decided to walk outside in a stiff manner. I enjoyed walks. While outside, I waved my arms and yelled at my neighbors. I enjoy yelling too, now that I think about it.

“Simple Sereal! Simple Sereal!”I shouted at a passing biker.

Feel free to reply. But I won't read cuz I'm shy. Unless it's haiku.

